Keyvisual

K3 – Centre for Choreography | Tanzplan Hamburg at Kampnagel is a comprehensive centre for expertise in the field contemporary dance and choreography, artistic research and dance outreach.

K3 was established in 2006/2007 as part of a five-year funding program by Tanzplan Deutschland - an initiative of the Federal Cultural Foundation that ran from 2006 to 2010. In the summer of 2007, the k3 exhibition hall at Kampnagel – a former factory complex in Hamburg-Barmbek that is today an international centre for performing arts – was renovated with funds provided by the Hamburg Cultural Authority. The resulting three dance studios, as well as adjacent studio stage P1, now form the basis of K3 - Centre for Choreography. K3 is an artistically independent institution operating within the organisational structure of Kampnagel.

K3 is funded by the City of Hamburg since 2011 and is one of the few rare centres for choreography and dance in the German-speaking regions of Europe. With its expertise and strong network of ties to the local, national and international dance scene, K3 significantly contributes to increasing the visibility of dance and strengthening the standing of this special art form.

A major focus of work at K3 is developing and offering various forms of residencies and artistic formats of working that combine artistic research, production and presentation. Promoting and supporting young choreographers and dance professionals in the early stages of their career is a main priority.
In addition to providing information and advice, the centre offers dance makers and other professionals in the field regular courses and professional training, workshops as well as further learning formats.

Our outreach and education programmes aim towards fostering appreciation of dance in people of all ages. One of our main focuses lies on projects located at the crossroads of artistic practice – i.e. dance, choreography and performance – and discourse, both on the theory of dance and broader social issues. In addition to the Moving Heads series, we also offer e.g. regular courses in cooperation with a local community college offering classes for adults. Another important part of our work at K3 is to promote cultural appreciation among children and teenagers through a variety of collaborative projects and partnerships with schools and projects by and with teenagers, such as the K3 Youth Club.
The three pillars of our work – residencies, classes and training, and dance outreach – moreover form the conceptual foundation for a number of projects in cooperation with academic and cultural institutions running over several years in contexts ranging from local to national and international.
As a place for artistic exchange and networking, K3 has played a major part since its establishment in developing a dynamic and strong dance community in Hamburg. In addition, we consider fostering dialogue between policymakers and dance professionals, as well as creating platforms for transdisciplinary exchange with other arts and fields of knowledge essential in order to strengthen the standing and the position of contemporary dance and choreography in our society.

The Tanzplan Hamburg concept conceived as part of Tanzplan Deutschland (2006-2010) not only involved the establishment of the K3 Centre for Choreography, but also provided the incentive for the Cultural Authorities in Hamburg to appoint an independent jury of dance experts and double the amount of funding available for dance in the city. Both changes have been retained even after the end of Tanzplan Deutschland.

K3 – Centre for Choreography | Tanzplan Hamburg is an affiliate member of the European Dancehouse Network (EDN) and member of the Dachverband Tanz Germany, the Federal Association of Dance in School and the LAG Kinder und Jugendkultur e.V.

Keyvisual

K3 – Zentrum für Choreographie | Tanzplan Hamburg auf Kampnagel ist Kompetenzzentrum und Ansprechpartner für zeitgenössischen Tanz und Choreographie, künstlerische Forschung und Tanzvermittlung.

K3 wurde in der Spielzeit 2006/2007 im Rahmen der Initiative Tanzplan Deutschland (2006 bis 2010) der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gegründet. Mit Investitionsmitteln der Kulturbehörde Hamburg wurde im Sommer 2007 die ehemalige Ausstellungshalle k3 auf Kampnagel – frühere Fabrik im Hamburger Stadtteil Barmbek und heute internationales Zentrum für performative Künste – umgebaut. Die dabei entstandenen drei Tanzstudios sowie die angrenzende Studiobühne P1 bilden seitdem die von K3 genutzte räumliche Grundlage für das künstlerisch eigenständige, in die Organisationsstruktur Kampnagels eingebundene, choreographische Zentrum.

Seit 2011 von der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg gefördert, ist K3 eines der wenigen choreographischen Zentren bzw. Tanzhäuser im deutschsprachigen Raum und trägt als lokal, überregional und international vernetztes Kompetenzzentrum wesentlich zur kontinuierlichen Sichtbarkeit und Stärkung der Kunstform bei.

Ein wesentlicher Arbeitsschwerpunkt von K3 liegt in der Entwicklung und dem Angebot von verschiedenen Residenz- und künstlerischen Arbeitsformaten, die künstlerische Forschung, Produktion und Präsentation verbinden. Die Förderung und Qualifizierung von ChoreographInnen und Tanzschaffenden am Beginn ihrer beruflichen Praxis, stehen besonders im Vordergrund.

Zugleich bietet das Zentrum Tanz- und Kulturschaffenden regelmäßig Kurse und Training, fachbezogene Weiterbildung und Qualifizierung sowie Information und Beratung an.

Die Schnittstellen von Tanz, Choreographie und Performance als künstlerische Praxis sowie Theorie- und Gesellschaftsdiskurse zu thematisieren ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Programmangebote für Tanzinteressierte jeden Alters im Bereich Tanzvermittlung, der neben der Reihe Moving Heads u.a. regelmäßige Kurse in Kooperation mit der Hamburger Volkshochschule umfasst. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Arbeit von K3 liegt im Bereich kultureller Bildung und beinhaltet Kooperationsprojekte und Partnerschaften mit Schulen und Projekte mit und von Jugendlichen, wie z.B. den K3-Jugendklub.

Die drei Arbeitsschwerpunkte – Residenz, Kurse und Training, Tanzvermittlung – sind zudem konzeptionelle Grundlage für mehrjährige Kooperationsprojekte mit wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Institutionen im lokalen, überregionalen und internationalen Kontext.

Als Ort der künstlerischen Kommunikation und Vernetzung hat K3 seit seiner Gründung wesentlich zur Entwicklung einer dynamischen und vernetzten Tanzszene in Hamburg beigetragen. Um die gesellschaftliche Verankerung zeitgenössischen Tanzes und zeitgenössischer Choreographie weiter zu stärken, ist es zudem ein wesentliches Anliegen, den Dialog zwischen Politik und Tanzschaffenden zu unterstützen und Plattformen für den transdisziplinären Austausch mit anderen Kunst- und Wissensfeldern zu schaffen.

Das Konzept von Tanzplan Hamburg im Rahmen von Tanzplan Deutschland (2006-2010) umfasste nicht nur die Gründung des choreographischen Zentrums K3, sondern auch die Einführung einer Tanz-Fachjury und die Verdoppelung der Projektförderdung für den Bereich Tanz durch die Kulturbehörde der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg. Beides wurde nach Abschluss von Tanzplan Deutschland ebenfalls fortgeführt.

K3 – Zentrum für Choreographie | Tanzplan Hamburg ist seit 2012 affiliate member des European Dancehouse Network (EDN) sowie Mitglied des Dachverband Tanz , des Bundesverbandes Tanz in Schulen und des LAG Kinder und Jugendkultur.