Keyvisual
One of the main functions of K3 is to provide a clearly visible platform for contemporary dance in Hamburg and function as a competent partner for information and expertise on dance in interaction with the general public, dance professionals and politicians. This particularly includes firmly establishing contemporary dance on the agenda of cultural education.
To promote an understanding of contemporary dance and choreography as artistic disciplines that combine theory and practice and encourage discussion thereof is an integral part of the concept of K3.

The series Moving Heads focuses on where dance and choreography intersect as artistic practice and discourse. K3 also regularly hosts symposiums and conventions, lectures and round table discussions exploring various aspects of these issues, as well as temporary exhibitions on the mutual influences of dance and choreography with other fields such as photography, new media and the visual arts.

The Probebühne Eins (Rehearsal Stage One) format provides insight into choreographic and artistic processes and various approaches to handling contents, form and aesthetics in a context not tied to a specific production. Artists are invited to show short samples of their work, experiments and excerpts from longer pieces with subsequent room for discussion. Probebühne Eins takes place repeatedly at irregular intervals every season; participants can apply to take part in answer to irregularly posted calls for proposals.

K3 moreover offers post-performance talks with the audience and introductory talks for performances upon request and can arrange for possibilities for school classes or other interested groups to attend rehearsals (e.g. in cooperation with Nordpuls – Klub für Zeitkunst).

K3 also offers regular classes and workshops in cooperation with the local community college as well as choreographic projects with various partners and formats aimed at people of all ages interested in dance.

K3's programme for teens and younger students includes the K3 Youth Club for teens age 15 and older and various collaboration projects and partnerships with schools and institutions, such as TuSch, the Dance Partners Fund.

Keyvisual
Zeitgenössischem Tanz in Hamburg eine sichtbare Plattform zu geben und als Kompetenz- und Informationszentrum Ansprechpartner für Tanzinteressierte, Tanzschaffende und auch Kulturpolitik zu sein, ist eine wesentliche Aufgabe von K3. Dazu gehört insbesondere auch, zeitgenössischen Tanz verstärkt im Bereich der kulturellen Bildung zu verankern.
Zeitgenössischen Tanz und Choreographie als künstlerische Disziplinen in ihrer Verbindung von Theorie und Praxis zu kommunizieren und zur Diskussion zu stellen, ist dabei grundlegendes Konzept des Programms von K3.

In der Reihe Moving Heads – Choreographie im Gespräch stehen die Schnittstellen von Tanz und Choreographie als künstlerischer Praxis und Diskurs im Fokus. In diesem Rahmen lädt K3 regelmäßig zu Symposien und Tagungen, Vorträgen und Gesprächen ein. Zudem thematisieren wechselnde Ausstellungen in der K3 die Schnittstellen von Tanz und Choreographie zu anderen Disziplinen wie Fotografie, Medien und Bildender Kunst.

Um choreographische Arbeitsprozesse transparent und künstlerische Arbeit unabhängig von Produktionen sichtbar zu machen sowie Anlass für Auseinandersetzung über inhaltliche, formale und ästhetische Ansätze zu bieten, gibt es das Werkstattformat Probebühne Eins, bei dem Arbeitsproben, kurze Experimente oder Ausschnitte aus Projekten als Showing gezeigt und diskutiert werden. Probebühne Eins findet in unregelmäßigen Abständen mehrfach im Laufe der Spielzeit statt, die Teilnahme wird ausgeschrieben.

Darüber hinaus bietet K3 zu allen Produktionen Publikumsgespräche und Einführungen an und ermöglicht auf Anfrage Probenbesuche von Schulklassen oder interessierten Gruppen (z.B. in Kooperation mit Nordpuls – Klub für Zeitkunst).

Für Tanzinteressierte jeden Alters bietet K3 u.a. regelmäßige Kurse und Workshops in Kooperation mit der Hamburger Volkshochschule an. Darüber hinaus finden in unterschiedlichen Kooperationen und Formaten choreographische Projekte für Tanzinteressierte statt.

Das Angebot für Jugendliche und SchülerInnen umfasst den K3-Jugendklub für Jugendliche ab 15 Jahren sowie zahlreiche Projektkooperationen und Partnerschaften mit Schulen und Institutionen, wie z.B. TuSch, Tanzfonds Partner und Kultur Forscher!.