Keyvisual
As a concept and as a process, contemporary choreography combines dance and performance to a field of artistic research with enormous potential in terms of artistic innovation. Contemporary choreography is characterized by process-oriented and decentralized working contexts that explore fundamental issues of body, space and movement. It is closely associated with questioning and reflecting choreography as an independent art form within the larger context of ongoing developments in society and in the more specific context of dance and performance history. As a descriptive framework for knowledge that takes the human body as its point of departure and as a process for structuring movement in three-dimensional space, choreography has always reflected historical and social developments. In a society geared towards growing mobility, its significance transcends that of the art form per se and is bound to increase even more in the future, particularly in light of such aspects as inclusion, exclusion and participation, as well as presentation/representation.

In addition to promoting contemporary dance as an independent art form and providing training for dance professionals and choreographers, one of K3’s main focuses lies on providing opportunities for artistic research in various residency formats. Our residency programme – the only one of its kind in the world – offers three choreographers, who are still at an early stage of their career, the opportunity to pursue their work, artistic research and stage a production at the Centre in a period of eight months.

Exploring different approaches to communicating dance and choreography as well as experimenting with participatory formats in choreographic processes are other important areas of our work that are reflected in particular in the artistic/academic postgraduate and doctorate programme Graduiertenkolleg Versammlung und Teilhabe: Urbane Öffentlichkeiten und performative Künste (Assembly and Participation: Urban Public Spaces and the Performing Arts), a joint project of the Hafencity University Hamburg, Fundus Theatre and K3.

In the field of methodology for teaching dance, the IDOCDE – International Documentation of Contemporary Dance Education project aims to develop and document international examples of "best practice".

Keyvisual
Als Begriff und Verfahren verbindet zeitgenössische Choreographie die Kunstformen Tanz und Performance zu einem Bereich mit hohem Innovatonspotenzial im Feld der künstlerischen Forschung. Zeitgenössische Choreographie ist gekennzeichnet durch prozessorientierte und dezentral organisierte Arbeitskontexte, die sich mit grundsätzlichen Fragen zu Körper, Raum und Bewegung beschäftigen. Dies ist eng verbunden mit der Befragung und Reflexion von Choreographie als eigenständiger Kunstform im Kontext gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen sowie im Kontext von Tanz- und Performancegeschichte. Mit dem Körper als zentralem Ausgangspunkt ist Choreographie als Beschreibungskategorie von Wissen und Verfahren der Gestaltung von Bewegung im Raum stets Spiegel geschichtlicher und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen. In einer auf Mobilität ausgerichteten Gesellschaft gewinnt diese insbesondere unter den Aspekten Inklusion, Exklusion und Partizipation sowie Präsentation und Repräsentation zunehmend – und deutlich über die Kunstform selbst hinausweisend – an Bedeutung.

Neben der Vermittlung des zeitgenössischen Tanzes als eigenständige Kunstform und der Qualifizierung von Tanzschaffenden und ChoreographInnen, ist der Bereich der künstlerischen Forschung im Rahmen von unterschiedlichen Residenzformaten ein wesentliches Arbeitsfeld von K3. Das in dieser Form international einmalige Residenzprogramm gibt jährlich drei ChoreographInnen am Beginn ihrer beruflichen Praxis die Möglichkeit acht Monate am Zentrum zu forschen, zu arbeiten und zu produzieren.

Die Verbindung zu vermittelnden und kommunikativen Ansätzen und das Experimentieren mit Teilhabe an choreographischen Verfahren ist ein wichtiges Arbeitsfeld, das sich insbesondere im gemeinsam von Hafencity Universität Hamburg, Fundus Theater und K3 getragenen künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Graduiertenkolleg Versammlung und Teilhabe: Urbane Öffentlichkeiten und performative Künste widerspiegelt.

Im Bereich der Lehrmethoden innerhalb des Tanzunterrichts verfolgt IDOCDE – „International Documentation of Contemporary Dance Education“ das Forschungsziel, internationale „best practice“-Beispiele zu entwickeln und zu dokumentieren.